Currently in: US flag icon

United States

Salt Lake City

tripper photo

Wants to meet up: Yes

I'm seeking a trip companion to Belgium (1. 1. - 1. 9. 18)

Backpacking Workaway Trip Around Europe!

1. 1. - 1. 9. 2018 (244 day trip)

de flag icon Belgium de flag icon Greece de flag icon United Kingdom de flag icon Italy de flag icon Spain de flag icon Israel de flag icon France de flag icon Netherlands de flag icon Switzerland de flag icon Germany de flag icon Turkey de flag icon Iceland de flag icon Ireland

UPDATE: I AM NOT DOING THIS TRIP IN THE MONTHS ORIGINALLY PLANNED, AND AM STILL FIGURING OUT IF/WHEN I WILL DO IT, DUE TO A NEW EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY AND OTHER LIFE EVENTS. I'LL UPDATE HERE AGAIN WHEN I HAVE THINGS MORE FIGURED OUT :) am planning a gap year backpacking trip around Europe, most likely starting in January and lasting 6 to 12 months. Because I have a very low budget, and want to really experience life with local people, I will be doing workaways or other similar programs where I would stay for free with a family or organization, such as a school, farm, or hostel, in exchange for volunteering there for usually 20 to 25 hours a week with whatever projects they need help with, such as caring for children, practicing English, farm work and gardening, and more. I am a bit nervous about doing this on my own, and so would love to have a travel buddy to join me on this trip. I hope to find someone friendly and adventurous, who would love to go on adventures during our free time, and who is just as excited about exploring this beautiful world as I am!

Split costs: Yes

Budget: $2000 +

Type of journey: Backpacking

Looking for : Any

Meeting before trip: Skype

Languages: English

Accommodation: Couchsurfing, Homestay, Campside, Other, Hostels

Getting around: Bus, Hiking, Hitchhiking

First visit: Yes

Work & Travel: Yes

Itinerary: Flexible

 

Places I want to see: I hope to spend some time in France and/or Switzerland so I can practice my French, and also want to visit Ireland, the UK, and Spain, maybe Italy, Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands, and perhaps Iceland, Greece, Turkey, and/or Israel. I don't have a visa, so I will need to switch between Schengen/non-Schengen areas every three months.

Things I want to do: As I already explained, I am planning on doing a variety of different workaway programs, which will fill up much of my time. I also plan on spending some time working on line for some extra income, and may also take an online class in order make a little process in my education. In my free time, however, I would love to explore the area we are working in, taking public transport in more metropolitan areas to explore inexpensive museums, historical sites, etc., and farther out in the countryside exploring on bikes, hiking, etc. I am also really interested in hearing what you would want to do!

Latest Comments

Comment

Dushyant Shekhawat-12.6.2018

Hi, I came to know you are around Italy and Europe this summer. I am also planning to travel from 14th July to 21st July. My plan is little flexible, but I've a good itinerary, let me know if you are interested. May be if we can plan out something amazing. :) Thanks, waiting for your response. -- Dushyant Singh Shekhawat Production Engineer Software Integrated Solutions Schlumberger E. [email protected]

Joshua Kerridge-30.5.2018

Hey! My friend and I are looking for another travel buddy to trip around Iceland from the 6th June. Not sure if this suits you but if it does, let me know!

abhi sood-26.4.2018

Hi Sarah. I am from SF. I am going to Barcelona from June 8-June 12. I have airbnb with 2 bedrooms. As my friend is not able to go. I was looking for a Travel Buddy. Let me know if you are interested to explore the Barcelona City,

Yong Hwa Lim-17.4.2018

Hi it's Hong here, I'm a 20-year-old student originally from Malaysia but currently studying in Frankfurt. Next Friday (April 27) I'm flying to Toulouse for a 5-day short trip, returning to Frankfurt on May 1. My plans in Toulouse including visitingthe Airbus Factory, strolling in the old town, visiting some art museums amongst others. Besides I will also be making day trips to the Pyrenees to do some hiking in addition to Carcassonne for the castle. I regard myself as an easygoing person, generally able to get along with strangers and open to meeting new friends. On my journeys I do not put much thought on budgeting, rather how to get most out of my money - such as sampling authentic cuisine and splurging when necessary. I was also told on many occasions that I'm a huge history/architecture nerd, so I guess that's true to a certain degree. In particular I love visiting palaces/castles and royal residences of the kind. If this interests you please send me an email via [email protected] for more details. I look forward to meeting you!

Ali Sadif-15.4.2018

You still in your trip I will be in Europe this coming summer

Where will you be early June?! I’m trying to go anywhere!

Benito Graffagnino-30.3.2018

Hi Lisa, I've requested to join, I'm not sure how this site works yet, I'm interested in visiting Eastern Europe and maybe the Balkans and some of mainland Europe... Eastern Europe/The Balkans is incredibly cheap and beautiful at this time of year as the weather picks up! Benny

Lucy B-29.3.2018

Hi Sarah! Im from Australia but working in Istanbul, Turkey until the end of april, so if you end up coming here let me know ! I have soo much free time so we could explore together heaps !

sarah gomes-14.3.2018

Hi Sarah! Will you be in Europe this summer? Looking for a travel companion there!

Matt Setnes-11.3.2018

Are you still backpacking this trp?

Xena Liu-9.2.2018

Will you be in Iceland next month by any chance?

Kellie Hoyt-13.12.2017

Where do you plan to be around July/August?

Dustin Butler-28.10.2017

I would love to join you on this exciting trip!

Sarah Hilton-3.10.2017

Thanks Martin Svec! Hope you have a great time finishing university.

Martin Švec-26.9.2017

This trip looks amazing! I am sure you will have a blast! I am finishing university at this time so I can't join, but wish you all the best.


More trips to these destinations

Greece in August or Thailand in November

Anytime

GR flag icon

Greece, Thailand

Detail
tripper photo
LB flag icon 25

Local

Anytime

GB flag icon

United Kingdom

Detail
tripper photo
GB flag icon 34

the europe tour

Anytime

ES flag icon

Spain

Detail
tripper photo
ES flag icon 27